by nolovelust
17. April 2011 22:42
Via grimboy.co.uk. If you are in the UK and downloading files from filesonic.com, you are being watched.
According to HTTP request results from ISP virginmedia, any connection to filesonic.com routed through virginmedias proxy. This means any communication with that service may be being watched.
Virgin media has a traffic shaping policy but requests to other file locker services such as rapidshare does not get routed through their proxy.
Very suspicious indeed!
You can test this by yourself. Download, install and run Fiddler. Go to Request builder tab click on Execute after typing http://filesonic.com in to the address filed. Once request completed you should see results. On result page click on Headers tab. See below screenshots


by nolovelust
12. April 2011 23:15
Are you using Dropbox to securely store/backup your private files?
Think again! Dropbox can determinate if a file uploaded before by other Dropbox user you can find it out "simply by observing the amount of data transferred between your own computer and Dropbox's servers. If the file isn't already stored by Dropbox, the entire file will be uploaded. If Dropbox has the file already, just a few kb of communication will occur."
"What this means, is that from the comfort of their desks, law enforcement agencies or copyright trolls can upload contraband files to Dropbox, watch the amount of bandwidth consumed, and then obtain a court order if the amount of data transferred is smaller than the size of the file"
Source
by nolovelust
8. April 2011 09:16
Veracode found out that one of the most Android apps Pandora Radio sending quite intimate details of users to Pandora’s and advertisers' servers. As a publisher I know that certain details must be sent to ad networks about user/visitor but I believe it must be voluntary opt-in feature so that user of the app can decide freely.
by nolovelust
4. March 2010 22:00
You've probably already heard that google started behavioral advert targeting. In a nut shell if you show interest to an advert on the google ad network you start to get more of smilar adverts as you surf on the internet.
It's been some time but I recently experienced it on my blog. I was searching about FOREX and clicked on an advert on google home page. I don't usually click adverts on google but this time was different. I've read on the net that some people makes 100s in matter of days. That sounded perfect way to get extra money. Anyways, in short i didn't invest and i wasn't going to anyway. I just wanted to get some info about what it is.
After my short info gathering surf i started to realize that i keep seeing adverts about FOREX. At first I didn;t notice anything fishy as there is a good market and it is perfectly normal to come across adverts related to FOREX trading companies. My coin dropped when i started to see adverts about FOREX from google adsense on my blog! I don;t have any content related to FOREX or any financial system but i was seeing adverts about FOREX!
I advice everyone to do what i done. Whichever browser you are using get an ad-blocker plugin!
- Firefox already have one called adblock plus
- Internet explorere users can instal IE7Pro's ad blocker
- I use Opera and here is my urlfilter.ini. Copy > Open notepad > Paste > Save as "urlfilter.ini" and put it under profile folder of Opera
- Chrome? Are you mad? I am trying to stay away from google as much as possible.
Here is my Opera adblock list
Opera Preferences version 2.1
; Do not edit this file while Opera is running
; This file is stored in UTF-8 encoding
[prefs]
prioritize excludelist=1
[include]
*
[exclude]
http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/*
http://*.2mdn.net/*
http://i.xx.openx.com*
http://img-cdn.mediaplex.com/*
http://*.g.doubleclick.net/pagead/*
http://feedads.g.doubleclick.net/*
http://ds.serving-sys.com/*
http://cdn.undertone.com/*
http://bs.serving-sys.com/*
http://ad.doubleclick.net/*
http://spe.atdmt.com/*
http://hstgb.tradedoubler.com/*
http://r2.ace.advertising.com/*
http://reklam.e-kolay.net/reklam/*
http://*.google-analytics.com/__utm.gif
https://*.google-analytics.com/__utm.gif
http://*.google-analytics.com/ga.js
https://*.google-analytics.com/ga.js
http://*.adtech.de/*
http://*.atwola.com/adserv/*
http://ec.atdmt.com/b/*
http://cdn.fastclick.net/fastclick.net/*
http://images.widgetbucks.com/widgets/*
http://www.crowdgravity.com/AF_CG/*
http://content.yieldmanager.edgesuite.net/atoms/*
http://video.flashtalking.com/tagsv3/*
http://r1.ace.advertising.com/*
http://*.ace.advertising.com/*
http://*.247realmedia.com/RealMedia/*
http://cache.specificmedia.com/creative/*
http://info.clipta.com/storage/*
http://date.ventivmedia.com/sfwgirls/*
http://content.yieldmanager.edgesuite.net/ct/*
http://www.adreactor.com/services/*
http://www.friendlyduck.com/AF_TA/*
http://static.bittorrent.am/banners/*
http://ads.ookla.com/*
http://content.pop6.com/*
http://banners.adultfriendfinder.com/*
http://static.getclicky.com/*
https://static.getclicky.com/*
http://in.getclicky.com/*
https://in.getclicky.com/*
http://ads.ign.com/*
http://b1.adbrite.com/iads/*
http://ads.adbrite.com/*
http://statse.webtrendslive.com/*
http://m.webtrendslive.com/*
http://aka-cdn-ns.adtechus.com/apps/*
http://static.planet49.com/*
http://ad.yieldmanager.com/*
http://d1.openx.org/*
http://static2.theloungenet.com/Advertisers/*
http://www.ajansreklam.net/media/*
http://img.medyanet.com.tr/*
http://crea.medyanet.net/*
http://reklam.vimjo.com/*
http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/*
http://ec.atdmt.com/ds/*
http://graphics.pop6.com/banners/*
http://ads.juicyads.com/network/*
http://static.fleshlight.com/images/*
http://data.ero-advertising.com/datanew/*
http://img.giantsquidmarketing.com/img?*
http://graphics.hotbox.com/banners/*
http://85.17.80.70/datanew/*
http://media.etology.com/bannerimg/*
http://nimages.gtsads.com/*
http://*.flashbanners.static.ard.cdn-xxxblackbook.com/flashbanners/*
http://ads.media.program3.com/images/*
http://*.img.awempire.com/jsm/*
http://new.gtsads.com/*